About SVU TeniSTA

Want to become a member?

Click here for more information and join us at one of our open tosses or practices at the start of the academic year to experience it yourself…

Or sign up directly here!


SVU TeniSTA is a student tennis club in Amsterdam which is backed by the sportcentre of the Vrije Universiteit. We combine the sporty tennis with social activities to create a group of likeminded students and tennis buddy’s.

TeniSTA is situated at the park of ALTC de Aemstelburgh since september 2016, which is only 10 minutes away by bike from the Vrije Universiteit or student campus Uilenstede.

On this page you will find an overview of everything that TeniSTA has to offer.


The interim board 2023/2024 consists of:

Chairman: Cindy Leenhouts voorzitter@tenista.nl Cindy Leenhouts
Vice-Chairman Timothy van Nieuwland voorzitter@tenista.nl Timothy van Nieuwland
Treasurer: Dominique Knip penningmeester@tenista.nl Dominique Knip
Secretary Int.: Roy Helthuis info@tenista.nl Roy Helthuis
Secretary Ext.: Jasper van Doorn info@tenista.nl Jasper van Doorn


Our club was founded on the 5th of december 1969 as a part of the then called Algemene Sportverening of the Vrije Universiteit (ASVU). The ASVU was founded in november 1945 and originated from the Commission to enhance the cultural and physical importances of the students at the VU (CoSCUVu). This Commission was founded to promote the social gatherings between the students of the university. This is one of the most prominent founding ideas within our own club. We try to create a welcoming safe space for everyone looking for a new start in Amsterdam. To this day, TeniSTA is a subassociation of the VU sportcentre but is nowadays a fully independent sport society. The name TeniSTA derives from the Spanish word for tennis player as well as the abbrivation STA: Student Tennis Amsterdam

Previous boards

Board 2023/2024:

Chairman: Jannick Boukema
Vice-Chairman Manu Pancras
Treasurer: Andréanne Proulx
Secretary Int.: Eleanna Smit
Secretary Ext.: Pim Dekker

Board 2022/2023:

Chairman: Cindy Leenhouts
Vice-Chairman Roy Helthuis
Treasurer: Kim Sumajow
Secretary Int.: Sofie Nollen
Secretary Ext.: Vera van de Wall

Board 2021/2022:

Chairman: Timothy van Nieuwland
Vice-Chairman Annika Spirgath
Treasurer: Iris Nieuwenhuize
Secretary Int.: Jurgen Vrolijk
Secretary Ext.: Mirjam Iske

Board 2020/2021:

Chairman: Patrick Smit
Vice-Chairman Maud Hottentot
Treasurer: Dominique Knip
Secretary Int.: Roy Helthuis
Secretary Ext.: Imke Vasen

Board 2019/2020:

Chairman: Tim Verweij
Treasurer: Edda Flockenhaus
Secretary Int.: Manon Graman
Secretary Ext.: Mathieu Tjon

Board 2018/2019:

Chairman: Anne Weeber
Secretary: Jasper van Doorn
Treasurer: Jelle Prein
Internal affairs: Gabriëlla van Bruggen

Board 2017/2018:

Chairman: Jurre Holzhauer
Secretary: Joeri Eising
Treasurer: Francine Verbeek
External affairs: Marcel van de Lagemaat
Internal affairs: Anne Plas

Board 2016/2017:

Chairman: Jelle Prein
Secretary: Vera Hogenboom
Treasurer: Anthea van der Velden
Internal affairs: Coralie Huigen

Board 2015/2016:

Chairman: Marije van der Waal
Secretary: Shan Sui Nio
Treasurer: Tim van der Zee
Internal affairs: Rosalie Woerdenbach

Board 2014:

Chairman: Lana Dördregter
Secretary: Jasper van de Lagemaat
Treasurer: Felix Peters
Externe Zaken: Jeffrey Koole

Board 2013:

Chairman: Rick Kroezen
Secretary: Boudewijn Muller
Treasurer: Fenna Boon
Internal affairs: Lana Dördregter

Board 2012:

Chairman: Willem Dorst
Secretary: Niels Waterval
Treasurer: Bob Radder
External affairs: Rick Kroezen
Internal affairs: Claudia Haug

Board 2011:

Chairman: Iris Brandenburg
Secretary: Anouk Rosman
Treasurer: Margot Haringa
External affairs: Bente van den Bergh
Internal affairs: Lisanne Molenaar

Board 2010:

Chairman: Sebastian Lytkowski
Secretary: Lotte Deen
Treasurer: Michiel Hilgeman
External affairs: Guus van de Plasse
Internal affairs: Iris Brandenburg

Board 2009:

Chairman: Teun Schriemer
Secretary: Debbie Reimerink
Treasurer: Jeffrey Blaas
External affairs: Floortje Steenhuis
Internal affairs: Jarst Frans

Board 2008:

Chairman: Jeroen de Liefde
Vice-Chairman: Teun Schriemer
Secretary: Bart Keukenmeester
Treasurer: Orly Yitzhak
Internal affairs: Debbie/ Linda/ Johan

Board 2007:

Chairman: Jeroen de Liefde
Secretary: Martine Kelder
Treasurer: Orly Yhitzak
External affairs: Paul de Bruijn
Internal affairs: Johan/ Geertje/ Ru-Shan